Here is the blurb from GoodReads:

Diagnosed with Stage IV thyroid cancer at 12, Hazel was prepared to die until, at 14, a medical miracle shrunk the tumours in her lungs… for now.

Two years post-miracle, sixteen-year-old Hazel is post-everything else, too; post-high school, post-friends and post-normalcy. And even though she could live for a long time (whatever that means), Hazel lives tethered to an oxygen tank, the tumours tenuously kept at bay with a constant chemical assault.

Enter Augustus Waters. A match made at cancer kid support group, Augustus is gorgeous, in remission, and shockingly to her, interested in Hazel. Being with Augustus is both an unexpected destination and a long-needed journey, pushing Hazel to re-examine how sickness and health, life and death, will define her and the legacy that everyone leaves behind.

What did you like most about the book? 

There were many things that I loved about this book, but if I had to choose one it would be that it was such an engrossing tale. I started reading it and the characters almost instantly felt like people that I would like to meet (if only they were real). I also loved the little parts in the book that I could tell John added from his own life. There were phrases, places or sentiments in the book that could only be called John Green-isms. I just find him to be a fascinating person!

What did you like least? 

I am having problems finding any major flaws with this story. The only thing that I didn’t like was the character Kaitlyn, Hazel’s friend. Luckily she was not that major a character, but something about her I didn’t like.

What did you think of the main character? 

Hazel was the type of girl that I would like to know in real life. She was smart and funny and had a self-awareness that I really admired about her. The fact that she loved to read was just a bonus.

Which character could you relate to best? 

There were certain ways that I felt like I could relate to Hazel. It might be strange that I can relate to a 16-year-old girl, but in this case I can. I had many breathing problems growing up and I know the feeling of your lungs betraying you. It is a paralyzing feeling to not being able to breathe. I almost died on a few occasions, but I can’t say that I knew what it was really like to be in her situation.

Were the characters and their problems believable? 

The characters truly did feel like real people to me. I would not be surprised in the least if there is someone out there in which the characters wholly describe. One of John Green’s strengths as a writer is the way he writes his characters. They just seem so real. As to their problems, there was nothing about the plot that took me out of the story. Even thinking about it now I feel like the story could be based on a true story. Even though it isn’t.

What was the book’s central question or theme? 

John Green does a good job of interlacing a bunch of themes into his books and this one is not any different. It is hard to figure out what the author is really trying to accomplish with his/her writings but this is what I got out of the story. Pain should be felt and not marginalized. There are going to be times when you get dumped or someone is dealt a rotten hand in life but you will just have to deal with it the best you can. It is okay to feel pain. “Easy comfort isn’t comforting.” –John Green.

 I give this book a 10 out of 10. It was just so amazingly good. Easily the best book I have read in 2012. 

13 responses »

  1. Nina says:

    I want to read this book really badly! I’ve heard so many good things about it. It is terribly sad or depressing? Just so I know not to read it when I’m already sad.

    • It definitely has its sad moments. I wouldn’t read in in public unless you want people looking at you funny for crying. But it has parts to make you smile, too.

      • Nina says:

        Oh my god, that’s good advice. I’m so guilty of crying in public over books and movies (I once watched Up while managing a bookstore and had to lock up while I composed myself).

  2. Wow, glad to hear it was so fantastic! I got this out from the library recently, then found out I can read it for one of my grad school assignments because John Green is in my textbook. Score, right?

    I think I’m going to love it, too. The breathing problems sound scary. Yikes!

  3. Sandie says:

    I love this book! Will write about it this week :D

  4. Em says:

    This book was so sad, and yet so uplifting. John Green really is a master. :3

  5. This book sounds absolutely amazing, and John Green is one of my favorite writers of all time, and I can’t wait until it comes out in paperback (a.k.a. the edition I can buy with my pocket money). Also, your review makes me insanely excited to get it!

    • Yea, there were so many things I loved about the book but I didn’t want to give anything away. I hope you get to read it sooner rather than later. I know sometimes books can take forever to come to paperback.

If you comment, I will love you just a little more.

